Sponsored by

Though shorthanded, Pima men's tennis shares runner-up plaque at NJCAA Region I Championships

The Pima Community College men’s tennis team closed out play in the NJCAA Region I Championships on Wednesday at the Paseo Racquet Center.

The Aztecs tied for second place as they finished with a total of four points. Glendale Community College also finished with four points. Mesa Community College took first with 18 points. All three teams qualified for the NJCAA Division I National Championship. It will be held at the Jim Reffkin Tennis Center (50 S. Alvernon Way) from May 13-17.

Below are the results of each singles and doubles flight from Tuesday’s and Wednesday’s competition:


  • (No. 1) Chris McDaniels lost to Francisco Angulo, Glendale CC, 6-3, 6-3
  • (No. 2) Oscar Aguilera lost to James Mineo, Glendale CC, 0-6, 6-1, 6-4
  • (No. 3) Beau Boyer defeated Christian Mineo, Glendale CC, 7-6 (5), 6-2
  • (No. 4) Edgar Franco defeated David Rodriguez, Glendale CC, 6-3, 6-4
  • (No. 5) Darin Trejo bye

Singles (FINALS)

  • (No. 3) Beau Boyer lost to Maxim Kirsch, Mesa CC, 6-0, 6-0
  • (No. 4) Edgar Franco lost to Yohann Prinsen, Mesa CC, 6-0, 6-0
  • (No. 5) Darin Trejo lost to Jorge Sala, Mesa CC, 6-0, 6-0


  • (No. 1) McDaniels/Boyer lost to Kyryll Kryvchun/Gonzalo Fernandez, Mesa CC, 6-2, 6-0
  • (No. 2) Aguilera/Franco defeated James Mineo/Christian Mineo, Glerndale, CC, 2-6, 6-2, 6-2

Doubles (FINALS)

  • (No. 2) Aguilera/Franco lost to Maxim Kirsch/Lucas Severo, Mesa CC, 6-0, 6-2.
- 30 -
have your say   


There are no comments on this report. Sorry, comments are closed.

Sorry, we missed your input...

You must be logged in or register to comment

Click image to enlarge

Photo by Raymond Suarez

The Aztecs men's tennis team tied for second place at the NJCAA Region I Championships. The Aztecs and Glendale Community College each finished with four points. The Aztecs qualified for the NJCAA Division I National Championship at the Jim Reffkin Tennis Center from May 13-17. (Left to right): Edgar Franco, Darin Trejo, Beau Boyer, Chris McDaniels, Oscar Aguilera, coach Ian Esquer.